

Minnesota TZD Program Leadership Team Meeting Notes Friday, August 14, 2020 9:00 – 10:30 a.m. Via Zoom meeting

Participants: Paul Aasen, Chris Ballard, Dave Boxum, Linda Dolan, Craig Flynn, JP Gillach, Mike Hanson, Kristine Hernandez, Jeff Huettl, Kammy Huneke, Mark Kinde, Holly Kostrzewski, Ken Johnson, Derek Leuer, Stephanie Malinoff, Scott McConkey, Kristi Sebastian, Brian Sorenson, Tony Spector, Dan Starry, Will Stein, Jeff Tate, and Scott Wasserman

Action items are denoted in bold.

Welcome, introductions, and review agenda

Welcome, Introductions, and Review Agenda

Stephanie welcomed members to the August TZD Leadership Team review when we chose the years' TZD Award Recipients. She reminded them of the process and to refer to the emailed documents.

2020 TZD Webinar Series Update

Linda briefly reviewed the twelve webinars a part of the upcoming 2020 Minnesota TZD Webinar Series. All of the webinars will have professional continuing education credits, all webinars will be recorded with the exception of the November 10th Tall Cop presentation. There will be an e-announcement with the dates, times, titles and speakers going out next week. The registration e-announcement is tentatively scheduled to be sent out September 9th or 10th.

Award Selection

The Awards Subcommittee selects all Star Award winners and prioritizes top candidates for other awards. The TZD Leadership Team makes the final decision for the non-Star awards.

Kathy Swanson Outstanding Service Award

The TZD Awards Subcommittee recommended Howard Preston then Dave Borchert. The TZD Leadership Team chose Howard Preston to receive the 2020 TZD Kathy Swanson Outstanding Service Award.

Star Awards

The TZD Awards Subcommittee recommended the following individuals and the TZD Leadership Team agreed with all of the recommendations:

• Child Passenger Safety: Tracy Brown

- Education: Stephanie Felt
- Emergency Medical and Trauma Services: Joan Somes
- Enforcement: Josh Hanson
- Engineering: Loren Hill
- Judicial/Court Systems: Monica Jensen

Traffic Safety Innovation Award

The 2021 form for the Traffic Safety Innovation Award will be changed to indicate the organization they are recommending with a recommended contact name. The current form looks like you recommend an individual not an organization. This award is specifically for an organization.

The Awards Subcommittee recommended American Student Transportation then Carver County. The Leadership Team selected American Student Transportation as the 2020 Traffic Safety Innovation Award recipient.

Emerging Leader Award

The Awards Subcommittee recommended Suvarna Nallamalli and Amy Wang for the Emerging Leader Award. The Leadership Team agreed and selected Ms. Nallamalli and Ms. Wang as the 2020 Emerging Leader Award recipients.

Distinguished Public Leadership Award

The Awards Subcommittee recommended Kristine Hernandez for the Distinguished Public Leadership Award. The Leadership Team agreed and selected Ms. Hernandez the 2020 Distinguished Public Leadership Award recipient.

There was additional conversation about the following topics that will be addressed at a future TZD Leadership Team meeting:

- Define who is included in "TZD Staff"
- Should TZD Staff be eligible for TZD awards?
- Should nominees be allowed to be nominated twice for an award if they were a past award winner? Stephanie reminded that members that this topic had been brought up in the past and the answer was yes as long as they are being nominated for significant new work since the past award.

Meeting was adjourned at 10:33 a.m.