Regional Partnerships

In addition to the statewide TZD effort, partnerships have been created in eight geographic areas of Minnesota to coordinate regional efforts. Regions are encouraged to look at data specific to their areas to identify factors leading to fatal and serious injury crashes, then work with their constituents to implement proven countermeasures.

Each partnership has a local steering committee, led by MnDOT and the State Patrol in that area and made up of local traffic safety stakeholders.

East Central

Northeast TZD map

The East Central Toward Zero Deaths program is new as of 2012. The counties that make up East Central TZD are Benton, Cass, Crow Wing, Isanti, Kanabec, Mille Lacs, Morrison, Sherburne, Stearns, Todd, Wadena, and Wright.


Northeast TZD map

Metro TZD includes the counties of Anoka, Carver, Chisago, Dakota, Hennepin, Ramsey, Scott, and Washington.


Northeast TZD map

Northeast TZD includes the counties of Aitkin, Carlton, Cook, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake, St. Louis, and Pine.


Northwest TZD map

Northwest TZD includes the Minnesota counties of Beltrami, Clearwater, Hubbard, Kittson, Lake of the Woods, Marshall, Norman, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake, and Roseau.

South Central

South Central TZD map

South Central TZD includes the counties of Blue Earth, Brown, Cottonwood, Fairbault, Jackson, Le Sueur, Martin, Nicollet, Nobles, Rock, Sibley, Waseca, and Watonwan.


Southeast TZD map

Southeast TZD includes the counties of Dodge, Fillmore, Freeborn, Goodhue, Houston, Mower, Olmsted, Rice, Steele, Wabasha, and Winona.


Southeast TZD map

Southwest TZD includes the counties of Big Stone, Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Meeker, Murray, Pipestone, Redwood, Renville, Swift, and Yellow Medicine.

West Central

Southeast TZD map

The West Central Toward Zero Deaths program is new as of 2012. The counties that make up West Central TZD are Becker, Clay, Douglas, Grant, Mahnomen, Otter Tail, Pope, Stevens, Traverse, and Wilkin.