

Minnesota TZD Program Leadership Team Meeting Notes Friday, Aug 12, 2022 9:30 a.m. – 10:30 a.m. Hybrid Meeting

Participants: Paul Aasen, Chris Ballard, Linda Dolan, Major Joe Dwyer, Dylan Ferguson, Craig Flynn, Shawn Hansen, Mike Hanson, Kristine Hernandez, Kammy Huneke, Ray Kroll, Annette Larson, Derek Leuer, Stephanie Malinoff, Scott McConkey, Nicole Roddy, Kristi Sebastian, Brian Sorenson, and Jeff Tate

Guest: Lisa Kons and Kyle Shelton

Action items are denoted in bold.

Welcome, introductions, and review agenda

Stephanie welcomed everyone. No introductions needed. She reviewed the process for the award selection.

2022 Award Recipient Selection

Based on discussion at this meeting, the final awards recipients for 2022 are the following.

Kathy Swanson Outstanding Service Award: Kristi Sebastian

Traffic Safety Innovation Award: Richfield Police Department

Emerging Leader Award: Dakota County Traffic Safety Social Media Challenge (Chen, Karsky, McCloud)

Emerging Leader Award: Princeton High School SADD students/advisor

Distinguished Public Leadership: Chief Jeff Tate

Distinguished Public Leadership: Sheriff Kevin Torgerson

Media: Boyd Huppert, KARE 11

Star Awards:

Child Passenger Safety: Officer Ryan Kuffel

Education: Mary Erickson

Emergency Medical and Trauma Services: Josh Duda

Enforcement: Deputy Chad Myers

Engineering: Derek Leuer

Judicial/court system: No nominations

TZD Statewide Conference Update and Traffic Safety Hotdish Webinar Aug. 17

Registration for the conference opens August 23, 2022. Leadership team is encouraged to make their hotel registration. The Traffic Safety Hotdish event will be at 9:00 a.m. on Wednesday, August 17th with the topic "Advanced Vehicle Technology and IIJA—Taking Traffic Safety to the Next Level".

Meeting was adjourned at 10:50 a.m.