

Advisory Council on Traffic Safety

Wednesday, December 13, 2023 1:00 – 4:00pm

FINAL AGENDA

Humphrey School of Public Affairs, University of Minnesota 301 S 19th Ave, Minneapolis, MN 55455 Josie Johnson Community Room (Room 180)

1:00 Welcome and Introductions

- Chairs' Welcome and Introductions
 Chair Hanson, along with Vice-Chairs Sorenson and Diamond, will welcome members to the meeting. Members will be asked to introduce themselves and the organization they are representing on the Council.
- Approve Today's Agenda
- Approve Minutes from September 21 Meeting

1:15 Commissioners' Welcome

Commissioners from the Departments of Public Safety, Transportation, and Health will welcome members and discuss the importance and impact of the Council.

- Commissioner Nancy Daubenberger, Department of Transportation
- Commissioner Bob Jacobson, Department of Public Safety
- Assistant Commissioner Maria Sarabia, Department of Health

1:30 State of Traffic Safety in Minnesota

- Presentations
 - o History and Background, Col. Matt Langer, Minnesota State Patrol
 - o Current Crash Data Trends, Brian Sorenson, Department of Transportation
 - 20 Years of TZD: Then and Now, Kristine Hernandez, Statewide TZD Program Coordinator
 - Disparities in Motor Vehicle Injury and Fatalities, Catherine Diamond, Department of Health

Member Discussion

Members will be asked to share thoughts and reactions to the previous presentations. Please consider the following questions during the discussion:

- What do you see as critical areas of focus as we continue our efforts toward zero deaths?
- o What are the biggest challenges as we work in these critical areas of focus?
- O What resources are needed as we move forward?

2:45 Programmatic Updates and Associated Council Activities

Agency staff will provide background information, describe Council responsibilities, and recommend next steps for each of the following traffic safety programs. Council members will be asked to discuss and provide input on each.

- Safe Road Zones, Shannon Grabow, Department of Public Safety and Ken Johnson, Department of Transportation
- Rural High-Risk Roadways, Shannon Grabow, Department of Public Safety and Ken Johnson, Department of Transportation
- Strategic Highway Safety Plan, Whitney Mason, Department of Transportation

3:30 Council Administration

- Working Groups and Subcommittees
 Chair Hanson will provide an update on initial formation of subcommittees and working groups.
 Members will be asked to share their ideas and volunteers will be solicited to form the Council's first working groups on Safe Road Zones and Rural High-Risk Roadways.
- Operating Procedures
 Members will be asked to discuss and approve the attached Council Operating procedures.

3:45 Public Comment

Public comment is limited. The number of commenters and length of time permitted is at the discretion of the chair, and is subject to change. Please plan accordingly.

4:00 Adjourn