Emerging Leader Award Recipients

2021 Recipient: Avery Malone

Avery Malone
Avery Malone

The 2021 award was given to Avery Malone in recognition of her efforts to improve traffic safety through her leadership with the Thief River Falls Key Club. During the 2020–2021 school year, Avery’s family moved, but she chose to continue to attend her school and Key Club remotely.

At a time when many students were experiencing Zoom fatigue, Avery continued to forward the work of Teen TZD and TZD. She helped plan and organize the final school day’s visiting traffic safety “celebrities,” coordinated work on the Teen TZD website, and engaged fellow students to continue planning TZD efforts.

Past Recipients


  • Sam Fronek, Iesh Gujral, Abhi Nallamalli, Suvarna Nallamalli, and Amy Wang (for their work on the Distraction-Free Life Club’s Youth Outreach Team at Eden Prairie High School)


  • Key Club at Lincoln High School, Thief River Falls, MN