Southwest Minnesota TZD

Southwest Minnesota TZD Region

Southwest Minnesota TZD includes the counties of Big Stone, Chippewa, Kandiyohi, Lac qui Parle, Lincoln, Lyon, McLeod, Meeker, Murray, Pipestone, Redwood, Renville, Swift, and Yellow Medicine.
Teen drivers showing shirts promoting buckling up

Regional Seat Belt Data

The SW Minnesota regional seat belt usage in 2021 was 90.5 percent. This is a statistically significant increase from the 2020 rate of 86.9 percent.

Crash Maps and Analysis

These maps show the locations of fatal and serious injury crashes in each Southwest region county between 2018 and 2022.


State TZD Program Coordinator

Kristine Hernandez



Regional TZD Coordinator

Melissa Hjelle


District Engineer

Jon Huseby

Minnesota Department of Transportation


Minnesota State Patrol

Captain Casey Meagher