Kathy Swanson Outstanding Service Award

The Kathy Swanson Outstanding Service Award recognizes an individual who has shown exceptional leadership in efforts to improve traffic safety in Minnesota, build partnerships, and mentor others in the field. This individual will also have demonstrated a long-term passion, dedication, and commitment to reducing the number of deaths and injuries resulting from crashes on Minnesota roads.

2024 Nominations

We are currently accepting nominations for the 2024 TZD Kathy Swanson Outstanding Service Award. 

To submit a nomination, download and complete the nomination form (DOC) and email it to tzd@umn.edu. Submissions are due Thursday, June 27, 2024, by 5:00 p.m. CDT

Winners will be notified in late August 2024, and the awards will be presented at the Minnesota Toward Zero Deaths Conference on October 22–23, 2024, in St. Cloud, Minnesota.

Nomination Guidelines

  • Nominees must be individuals. Organizations cannot be nominated for the award.
  • Nominees must be individuals who influence Minnesota policies.
  • You may submit more than one nomination for the award.


View a list of recipients of the Kathy Swanson Outstanding Service Award.

More Information

Please contact Linda Dolan at ldolan@umn.edu or 612-625-4533.