Traffic Safety Innovation Award Recipients

2023 Recipients

Renville County Public Health, Renville County Sheriff’s Office, and the Minnesota State Patrol

Minnesota State Patrol
Renville Conty Sheriff
Renville County Public Health

The recipients of this year’s award have created a program to address the lack of access to car seats in Greater Minnesota. In some communities, car seats are unavailable in local stores or from other entities, such as public health departments, after business hours. As part of the Renville County TZD Coalition, Sgt. Sabrina Skold, Krista Schneider of Renville County Public Health, and Deputy Karla Koplin of the Renville County Sheriff’s Office created a plan to make car seats available in all 10 communities within the county. A spreadsheet tracks all of the car seat locations and expiration dates, and seats are stored at police and fire departments, along with installation videos for parents in case a technician is unavailable.

Past Recipients


  • Richfield Police Department


  • Minnesota Emergency Nurses Association Minnesota State Council


  • American Student Transportation


  • Project Bright Light, Bemidji Area Schools


  • KARE 11 #eyesUP Campaign


  • Motorcycle Dial-A-Ride


  • Diamond Surface Inc.


  • AT&T Minnesota